Skip to Main Content

The Not-So-Itsy-Bitsy Spider

Book #3 of Night Frights
Illustrated by Teo Skaffa
LIST PRICE: AU$ 6.99

In this third installment in the spooky and silly series that’s perfect for fans of Goosebumps and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, a kid home alone faces off against a giant spider!

Wolver Hollow is not a normal town. The adults are too busy shuffling off to work at the old coffin factory to notice or care, but the kids know all about monsters, ghosts, and strange lights in the sky. Strange things happen in Wolver Hollow. Creepy things.

Adults are always telling kids that spiders are more afraid of them than they are of the spider. But what about when that spider is the size of a dog? And your parents are out? And you just saw it scuttle past the open doorway to the living room? You know it’s waiting to jump out and eat you. You have no choice…you have to find it before it finds you!

Joe McGee loves to write about monsters and magic and other strange, curious, and quirky things. He grew up with his nose in a book and his imagination exploring other worlds. He knew when he was ten years old that one day he would grow up to be an author! He has an MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and an MFA in writing from Rowan University. Joe teaches at Sierra Nevada University’s low-residency MFA program and English at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College. He is a former Army officer and lives in the mountains of West Virginia with his wife (also a children’s author) Jessica Rinker. 

Teo Skaffa currently lives in Istanbul but is from a village in Netherlands which you’ve probably never heard of, and for good reason. He loves music, video games, cinema, and swimming. He hates drawing in accurate perspective and room temperature watermelon (cold is fine though, delicious even). Coming from a traditional background, he now focuses on digital illustration and storytelling. Most of his inspiration comes from that short moment when you wake up and don’t quite understand what is happening yet, where he sees brief flashes of images and ideas which he turns into colorful illustrations.

More books from this author: Joe McGee

More books from this illustrator: Teo Skaffa

More books in this series: Night Frights