December 18, 2018

            Emergency Contact

 

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. 

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

 

Join us on the Emergency Contact blog tour!

 

JANUARY 15

Happy Indulgence - Blog review + GIVEAWAY

Diva Booknerd - Blog review 

@aussiebookbandit - Instagram review 

Angel Reads - Blog review

@Frankenbookie - Instagram review 

Paperback Princess - Blog review

 

JANUARY 16

@bookishuniversee - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY

Paperback & Flick Chick - Blog review

@a.reader - Instagram review

Thoughts by Tash - Blog review 

@shelle_reads_books - Instagram review

Aussie Chick Knows Books Book Club - Facebook review

 

JANUARY 17

@theliterarycasanova - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY

Alliee reads - Blog review

1 girl….2 many books! - Blog review

Noveltea Corner  - YouTube review

Foureyed Fangirl - Blog review

That Bibliophile Franklin - Blog review

 

JANUARY 18

@bookbookowl - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY

The Chronic Bookworm Blog - Blog review 

Jessica's Bookworld  - Blog review 

@lifeofinkandwords - Instagram review

Bookish Kirra - Blog review

readctbooks - Blog review

 

JANUARY 19

Paper Fury - Blog review + GIVEAWAY

Read at Midnight - Blog review

Wild Heart Reads - Blog review

Looking for the Panacea - Blog review

Doddy about Books - Blog review

Truffle reads - Blog review

 

Emergency Contact