Skip to Main Content

A powerful coming-of-age story about chance encounters, injustice and how the choices that we make can completely change our future. The second novel from the incredibly talented Danielle Jawando, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

‘Jawando’s writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed’ Alice Oseman

When fourteen-year-old Shaq is stabbed outside of a busy shopping centre in Manchester, three teenagers from very different walks of life are unexpectedly brought together. What follows is a knock-on effect that flips their world upside down and makes Chantelle, Jackson and Marc question the deep-rooted prejudice and racism that exists within the police, the media and the rest of society.

Praise for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly:

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence

‘An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!’ Melvin Burgess

'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle

Born in Manchester, Danielle Jawando’s previous publications and broadcasting credits have included a short story “Paradise 703”, which was published by DeadInk in 2012 (and long-listed for the Finishing Line Press Award in 2011). She has also had several short plays performed at the King’s Arms in Manchester, and at Stratford Circus in London. In 2015, she worked on Coronation Street as a storyline writer and last year, her short story “The Deerstalker” was selected as one of the six finalists for the We Need Diverse Books short story competition.

Her debut novel And the Stars Were Burning Brightly was published by Simon & Schuster in February 2020.

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (March 1, 2022)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471178795
  • Ages: 14 - 99

Browse Related Books

More books from this author: Danielle Jawando