Skip to Main Content

The Other Daughter

LIST PRICE: AU$ 29.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

You only get one life – but what if it isn’t the one you were meant to live?
 
‘When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life.
 
Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .’
 
When Jessica, a young British woman, discovers a shocking secret about her birth she travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her mother spent time in the country writing an article on the Swiss women’s rights movement, but what she doesn’t know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?
 
Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man’s world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.

Photo courtesy of author

Caroline Bishop is a journalist, an editor, and the author of two novels, The Other Daughter and The Lost Chapter. For the past fifteen years, she has written about travel, food, and theatre for many publications, including The GuardianThe TelegraphThe Independent, and BBC Travel. A British-Canadian, she currently lives in Switzerland. Visit her at CarolineBishop.co.uk or connect with her on Twitter @CalBish.

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK (February 18, 2021)
  • Runtime: 9 hours and 30 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781471191862

‘A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women’s choices and past secrets that demands to be read’ 

– Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades'

– Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor

‘A gripping and emotional story’ 

– Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape

'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her'
 

– Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world’
 

– Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love

‘I couldn’t put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters. It took me into areas of Swiss history that I knew nothing about, but I felt like I was living it with the characters, not being given a history lesson. It’s also the most beautiful portrait of mother-daughter relationships’ 

– Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost