Skip to Main Content

‘A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women’s choices and past secrets that demands to be read’ Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

You only get one life – but what if it isn’t the one you were meant to live?
 
‘When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life. Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .’
 
When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women’s liberation movement, but what she doesn’t know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?
 
Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man’s world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.

'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world’ Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love

'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor

'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

‘A gripping and emotional story’ Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape

‘I couldn’t put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters. It took me into areas of Swiss history that I knew nothing about, but I felt like I was living it with the characters, not being given a history lesson. It’s also the most beautiful portrait of mother-daughter relationships’ Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost

‘A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women’s rights and one woman’s fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

Caroline Bishop began her journalism career at a small arts magazine in London, after a brief spell in educational publishing. She soon moved to work for a leading London theatre website, for which she reviewed shows and interviewed major acting and directing stars. Caroline turned freelance in 2012 and a year later moved to Switzerland, where her writing veered towards travel and she has contributed to publications including the Guardian, the Independent, the Telegraph and BBC Travel, writing mainly about Switzerland, and co-wrote the 2019 edition of the DK Eyewitness Guide to Switzerland. For two years Caroline was editor of TheLocal.ch, an English-language Swiss news site, and it was during this time that she became fascinated with aspects of Swiss history and culture, particularly the evolution of women's rights. 

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (March 3, 2021)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471190056

‘A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women’s choices and past secrets that demands to be read’ 

– Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades'

– Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor

‘A gripping and emotional story’ 

– Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape

'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her'
 

– Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world’
 

– Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love

‘A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women’s rights and one woman’s fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it'

– Clare Empson, author of Mine

‘I couldn’t put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters. It took me into areas of Swiss history that I knew nothing about, but I felt like I was living it with the characters, not being given a history lesson. It’s also the most beautiful portrait of mother-daughter relationships’ 

– Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost