The Lost Night

LIST PRICE: AU$ 9.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
About The Book

The feeling of dread when you can’t remember what you did last night is taken a terrifying step further

Edie was once the shining star in her 20-something circle in New York’s coolest neighbourhood. Like Andy Warhol’s muse, the seductive, beguiling and mercurial party girl had the social world in her thrall. Every girl wanted to be Edie, every boy wanted her, and she and her clique treated their slice of the city like a playground.

When Edie committed suicide at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could quite believe it. An overwhelming mix of grief, shock and resentment drove each of her ‘devoted’ friends into their own corner and, for years, that’s where they stayed.

Ten years later a chilling chance reunion forces Edie's best friend to wonder if there was more to her death. When a deeply unsettling video from that wild and terrible, hazy night emerges she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered – and, worse, if she herself was involved.

As Lindsay turns detective on her own life, revisiting events everyone would rather forget and interrogating her own fractured memory, she is forced to confront the demons of her past. In a shocking twist, the truth emerges of what really happened that night ...

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE LOST NIGHT:

‘Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again…oh my, this is your book.’ Caroline Kepnes, bestselling author of You and Providence

‘Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory.’ Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

‘Exciting, gripping, disquieting—The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It’s a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season’s must-read novel.’ Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia (March 2019)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781760851071
Raves and Reviews

'Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again…oh my, this is your book.’ 
 

– Caroline Kepnes, bestselling author of YOU and PROVIDENCE

‘Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory.’ 

 

– Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

'If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she’d feel right at home in The Lost Night: A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip' 

 

– Janelle Brown, bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

‘Exciting, gripping, disquieting—The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It’s a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season’s must-read novel.'
 

– Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder

‘I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York’s hippest crowd. The damaged narrator will keep you second-guessing all the way. I read it in two days!’

 

– C.J .Tudor, author of The Chalk Man and The Hiding Place

‘This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you’re in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you’ve ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, How in the world did I live to tell the tale?

– Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy

‘A fun, smart mystery that kept me guessing until the end.’

– Adelle Waldman, bestselling author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

'Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut. Andrea Bartz captured a distinct period of time in a young woman’s life that intrigued me, surprised me, and left me flush with nostalgia. I want more from this talented new voice.'

– Jessica Knoll, bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive

‘A riveting debut with, yes, an echo of The Girl on the Train.’

– Booklist (starred)

‘Accomplished … Fans of psychological thrillers will want to see more from this talented newcomer’

– Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images