Skip to Main Content

About The Book

A Junior Library Guild Selection

A set-in-his-ways housecat has his routine upended by an enthusiastic new puppy with a nose for solving mysteries in this first “effervescent” (Publishers Weekly) book in a graphic chapter book series perfect for fans of InvestiGators and Narwhal and Jelly.

Truffles the cat is the only pet in the house and reigns in peace and quiet, only exerting himself to find the best place to take a nice, long nap—preferably in a spot of warm sunshine. Then Poppy the puppy bursts onto the scene.

Poppy is loud, enthusiastic, excitable, and—worst of all—a puptective! She’s got an eye for crime and a nose to solve all mysteries that come her way…even though she’s not completely sure what a mystery is.

Truffles cannot let this intrusion stand. Poppy won’t be able to continue disrupting his precious me-time if she’s shipped to the North Pole! But could this irrepressible new companion be just what this grumpy cat needs?

About The Author

From the moment she was able to hold a pencil, Alina Tysoe was scribbling away and filling notebooks with doodles of dogs and comics about her family. Today, Alina is an illustrator, 2D animator, and author of What’s Up Beanie: Acutely Relatable Comics, a collection based on her popular webcomic by the same name, the picture book Emi Isn’t Scared of Monsters, and the graphic chapter book series The Great Puptective. She lives in Toronto with her husband, Mike, who makes regular appearances in her webcomic, and, infuriatingly, no dogs.

About The Illustrator

From the moment she was able to hold a pencil, Alina Tysoe was scribbling away and filling notebooks with doodles of dogs and comics about her family. Today, Alina is an illustrator, 2D animator, and author of What’s Up Beanie: Acutely Relatable Comics, a collection based on her popular webcomic by the same name, the picture book Emi Isn’t Scared of Monsters, and the graphic chapter book series The Great Puptective. She lives in Toronto with her husband, Mike, who makes regular appearances in her webcomic, and, infuriatingly, no dogs.

Why We Love It

“If you take the buddy cop trope and cross it with the sunshine-grump trope with a heavy dose of Pusheen, you get Truffles and Poppy—i.e., the perfect comedy mystery pairing! Alina Tysoe’s sense of humor just pops right off the page in both her text and illustrations; she just totally nails the kid humor—but it has so much heart, too, with sweet lessons on the value of being kind, thinking from other people’s perspectives, and being open to new ideas. Moreover, her drawing style is so irresistibly cute! Readers young and old will be smiling the whole way through.”

—Celia L., Executive Editor, on All I Need to Be

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (May 15, 2024)
  • Length: 128 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665938242
  • Ages: 6 - 9

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Truffles the feline enjoys an idyllic life with his human Sasha. But the spoiled house cat’s tranquility ends when Sasha decides that Truffles is lonely and needs a friend. Sasha soon brings home a box containing a puppy named Poppy, who rockets from the container and declares herself a puptective looking for a mystery to solve. The horrified house cat immediately retreats to nap, leaving Poppy to “puptect” her first mystery on her own. Poppy’s detecting drives Truffles to plot to oust the perpetually perky pooch. But Truffles’s attempts to sabotage Poppy’s investigations—including breaking a vase, eating Mom’s birthday cake, and digging up flowers—fail spectacularly. Sneakier efforts are needed to rid his home of pesky Poppy, prompting Truffles, disguised as the Blanket Bandit with Poppy’s purloined throw, to craft a mystery filled with Rube Goldberg–style traps to snare the canine. When Truffles’s plan succeeds too well, he must solve the mystery of the discouraged puptective’s heart’s desire: a real detective’s badge. In this effervescent graphic novel series opener, energetic illustrations by Tysoe (Emi Isn’t Scared of Monsters) capture the duo’s humorous antics, while the protagonists’ differing personalities promise plentiful schemes to come. Truffles and Poppy drawing lessons conclude. Ages 6–9. Agent: Maile Beale, Arc Literary Management. (Mar.)

– Publishers Weekly, 12/4/2023

Resources and Downloads