So, You Want to Be a Chef?

How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts

LIST PRICE: AU$ 6.99

About The Book

Become a full-time foodie with this step-by-step guide to entering the professional world of cooking, baking, and running a culinary business.

Designed to inspire creative expression and help aspiring chefs achieve their dreams, So, You Want to Be a Chef? defines the pathways fine dining and cuisine professions, from being a sous chef, pastry chef, or chef de cuisine, to becoming a caterer or restaurateur and more.

In addition to tips from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Be a Chef? includes inspiring stories from successful young cooks and a full list of resources to help you on your way to chefdom.

About The Author

Photograph by Arden Bedell

J. M. Bedell spent her childhood daydreaming in hayfields, talking to cows, and finding her heroes between the pages of books. She is a full-time writer of historical fiction and nonfiction for children. She received her MFA in creative writing from Hamline University in Minnesota. She lives with her husband and two Siberian huskies in Portland, Oregon. Visit her at JMBedell.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Aladdin/Beyond Words (October 22, 2013)
  • Length: 192 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781442488847
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12
  • Lexile ® 960L

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Chock-full of interviews with successful chefs, both renowned and unknown; sidebars with fun factoids...; and advice for aspiring chefs, this title will be a hit among teens who are serious about a career in the culinary arts."

– Lindsay Klemas, School Library Journal

"Aimed at individuals with a particular passion for food, this entry into the Be What You Want series offers both practical advice and inspiration regarding carving out a career in the food industry....Fans of Top Chef Junior and Spatulatta will savor this.

– Randall Enos, Booklist

Resources and Downloads

Common Core Suggestion

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: J. M. Bedell

More books in this series: Be What You Want