Skip to Main Content

A deliciously creepy, startlingly original tale to delight middle-grade readers, with stunning illustrations by a renowned and multi-award-winning artist
 
Lily just wants things to go back to the way they were: before she got sick, before her parents decided to have another baby.

So when she’s sent away to stay with her grandmother while her parents have the baby, she’s determined to go home. What she doesn’t expect to find is people in her house – people who look like her parents, but, with their coal black eyes, definitely aren’t . . .

Together with some unlikely companions, Lily must face her fears and summon the courage to defeat ‘The Replacements’ if she’s to save her family before the night is out.

Allegorical and atmospheric, this is a modern classic in the making, perfect for fans of Coraline and A Monster Calls.
 

Nick Lake is a children’s book editor at Harper UK. He received his degree in English from Oxford University. The Blood Ninja trilogy was inspired by his interest in the Far East, and by the fact that he is secretly a vampire ninja himself. Nick lives with his wife and daughter in England.