Skip to Main Content

A brilliantly imagined new 8+ adventure about resilience, family and hope. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted author of BOY IN THE TOWER. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Lisa Thompson and Onjali Rauf.

Rule number one: Always be prepared . . .

Billy’s mum isn’t like other mums. All she wants is to teach him the Rules of Survival – how to make firebuild shelter and find food. She likes to test Billy on the rules until one day she goes too far, and Billy is sent to live with a dad he barely knows.

Then the world changes suddenly and forever, as people begin to be infected with a mysterious virus that turns their skin grey. As chaos breaks out and Billy has to flee the city, he knows that this is what his mum was preparing him for – not just to save his family, but to save the whole world.

Praise for Boy in the Tower:
 
‘This matches a dystopian plot with a hugely engaging narrator . . . An unusual and very impressive debut’ – Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

‘Haunting and compelling, with characters you really care for’ – Vanessa Lewis, The Bookseller

‘I loved it and I think you - whoever you are, whether you're aged eight or eighty - will love it, too’ – The Bookbag

Polly Ho-Yen used to be a primary school teacher in London and while she was teaching there she would get up very early in the morning to write stories. The first of those stories became her critically acclaimed debut novel BOY IN THE TOWER, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the Blue Peter Book Award.

She lives in Bristol with her husband and daughter.