Skip to Main Content

About The Book

A hilarious and heartwarming romantic comedy that examines how the unlikeliest of loves can bloom in – well, the most likely of places. Perfect for fans of The Hating Game and The Soulmate Equation.

When Cece James agrees to be cast as a ‘Juliet’ on the next season of the hit television show Marry Me, Juliet, it’s certainly not for the right reasons. She’s knee deep in debt and desperate for the associated pay cheque. The last thing on her mind is the hunky ‘Romeo’ waiting for her at the end of the gravel driveway.

But Dylan Jayasinghe Mellor isn’t your usual fame-hungry TV star. An Olympic gold medallist with calloused hands, kind eyes and a propensity for panic attacks, it turns out he’s not here for the right reasons either. As spokesperson for a men’s mental health foundation, and the franchise’s first non-white male lead, Dylan’s got a charity to plug and something to prove.

When Cece gets eliminated on the first night, it seems like her and Dylan’s awkward first meeting will be their last conversation. But when the TV set is shut down unexpectedly, Cece and Dylan suddenly get a little more time together than they’d expected.

Will love bloom when the cameras stop rolling?


‘Jodi never fails to deliver humour, wisdom, and heart.’ Kylie Scott, New York Times bestselling author

About The Author

Photograph © Manda Ford

Jodi McAlister, PhD, is an author and academic from Kiama, Australia. Her academic work focuses on the history of love, sex, women and girls, popular culture, and fiction. It means that reading romance novels and watching The Bachelor is technically work for her. She is currently a aenior lecturer in writing, literature, and culture at Deakin University in Melbourne. For more, visit JodiMcAlister.com.au.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia (July 6, 2022)
  • Length: 336 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781761104961

Raves and Reviews

'an engaging tale of missteps, where love doesn’t happen at first sight.’

The Conversation

‘The book's plotline is far from formulaic … it brings elements to this fictional show that reality TV is lacking outside of the novel … an example that these fun reads can still be works of substance, despite the stereotypes.’

Canberra Times

‘Jodi never fails to deliver humour, wisdom, and heart.’

Kylie Scott, New York Times bestselling author

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Jodi McAlister

More books in this series: Marry Me, Juliet