East End Angel

a heart-warming and nostalgic family saga about love, loss and war

LIST PRICE: AU$ 32.99

About The Book

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London, from the bestselling author of A Wartime Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin
 
'Surely one of the best saga writers of her time' – Rosie Clarke

June 1941, Isle of Dogs, London.

In the dark days following the Blitz, happiness visits young Pearl Jenkins as she celebrates her marriage to Jim Nesbitt. But what should be a joyful occasion is marred when a fight breaks out between Jim and Ricky Winters, an unwelcome visitor from Pearl's past, and to Pearl's horror, the new beau of her wayward younger sister Ruby.

Increasingly uneasy at staying home while other men fight for their country, Jim enlists, leaving Pearl at home - alone, pregnant, and at Ricky's mercy. Together, Pearl and Ruby must bring up baby Cynthia while struggling to make ends meet and survive the bombings. And all the time, Pearl must hide the dark secret she harbours, one that would ruin her marriage and tear the two sisters apart . . .

When tragedy strikes both on the home front and in the trenches, will Pearl fight like never before to keep her family safe?

 
Praise for CAROL RIVERS:

'A gripping page turner' - LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' - ELIZABETH GILL
 

About The Author

Mother-of-three Carol Rivers, whose family comes from the Isle of Dogs, East London, now lives in Dorset. Visit www.carolrivers.com and follow her on Facebook and Twitter @carol_rivers

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (November 11, 2010)
  • Length: 512 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781849831888

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Carol Rivers