Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Amanda Bell Brown is a woman on the edge.

How's a woman supposed to nurse a broken heart when her pet sugar glider is driving her batty, or is that squirrelly? The deafening tick of her biological clock and having no Jazz to soothe her makes Amanda Bell Brown one frazzled forensic psychologist.

When Lieutenant Jazz Brown shows up at Amanda's door unannounced, her heart competes with her head as she struggles to do the right thing. Jazz says he wants to reconnect and make their relationship work. But there's just one tiny problem: his ex-wife is found murdered -- in his apartment.

Now Amanda has to strap on her sleuthing shoes -- the cute gold pair -- and work against time to discover the truth, both for herself and for Jazz. But as the body count rises and surprising clues begin to surface, Amanda wonders if anyone can know the heart of a man -- especially her man.

About The Author

Photo Credit:

Claudia Mair Burney is the author of the Amanda Bell Brown Mystery series. The first in the series, Murder, Mayhem, and a Fine Man was released in 2006. She lives in Ann Arbor with her husband, five of their seven children, and a hamster.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Howard Books (June 1, 2008)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416551911

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Claudia Mair Burney has created a genre all her own: sassy mystery. Burney's engaging writing and interesting characters, coupled with a sexual tension unprecedented in inspirational fiction, put this novel in a league of its own." -- Lisa Samson, Christy Award-winning author of Quaker Summer and Straight Up

"Claudia Mair Burney knows how to make the most heartbreaking things funny as she stares down the truths we turn away from. Every Amanda Bell Brown mystery leaves me looking deeper into the mysteries of God and deeper within myself." -- Marilynn Griffith, author of Pink, Jade, Tangerine, Turquoise, and If the Shoe Fits

"It's official: I'm a Claudia Mair Burney fan. Fan? Make that addict. It's all here: the snappy dialogue Burney is famous for, vivid characters, deep spiritual probing, and the combustible combination of Bell and Jazz." -- Siri Mitchell, author of The Cubicle Next Door and Chateau of Echoes

"Death, Deceit & Some Smooth Jazz intrigues and inspires and leaves you feeling like you've spent the evening in the company of a good friend." -- Stacy Hawkins Adams, author of Speak to My Heart and Nothing But the Right Thing

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Claudia Mair Burney

More books in this series: An Amanda Bell Brown Mystery