Summer Darlings

LIST PRICE: AU$ 9.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

Set during the splendid summer days of 1960s Martha’s Vineyard, this page-turning debut novel pulls back the curtain on one mysterious and wealthy family as seen through the eyes of their nanny—a college student who, while falling in love on the elegant island, is also forced to reckon with the dark underbelly of privilege.

In 1962, coed Heddy Winsome leaves her hardscrabble Irish Brooklyn neighborhood behind and ferries to glamorous Martha’s Vineyard to nanny for one of the wealthiest families on the island. But as she grows enamored with the alluring and seemingly perfect young couple and chases after their two mischievous children, Heddy discovers that her academic scholarship at Wellesley has been revoked, putting her entire future at risk.

Determined to find her place in the couple's wealthy social circles, Heddy nurtures a romance with the hip surfer down the beach while wondering if the better man for her might be a quiet, studious college boy instead. But no one she meets on the summer island—socialite, starlet, or housekeeper—is as picture-perfect as they seem, and she quickly learns that the right last name and a house in a tony zip-code may guarantee privilege, but that rarely equals happiness.

Rich with the sights and sounds of midcentury Martha’s Vineyard, Brooke Lea Foster’s debut novel Summer Darlings promises entrance to a rarefied world, for readers who enjoyed Tigers in Red Weather or The Summer Wives.

About The Author

Photograph by Arbërie Hetemi

Brooke Lea Foster is an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post Magazine, The Atlantic, The Boston Globe Sunday Magazine, Huffington Post, among others, and is the author of three nonfiction books. Foster is a three-time finalist for the Livingston Award, the highest honor given to writers under the age of thirty-five. Foster is also an alumnus of The Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College. Summer Darlings is her first novel.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (May 5, 2020)
  • Length: 368 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982115043

Raves and Reviews

"A delicious romp through mid-century Martha’s Vineyard replete with movie stars, sun-drenched beaches, domestic discord, and fancy outings to the club, Foster’s evocative debut is like a delightful picnic basket packed with everything readers want in a summer read. As Heddy spends her summer caring for the children of a wealthy couple and navigating her own romantic interests and financial issues, she discovers truths we all need to learn on our path toward adulthood. Summer Darlings is about the human desire to strive toward something more, the reality that things aren’t always what they seem, and the strength a woman will find within herself when she listens to her inner voice." 

– Susie Orman Schnall, author of We Came Here to Shine and The Subway Girls

"Foster has written a compelling coming-of-age story that exposes the sparkling glamor and dark underbelly of the haves and have nots in the 1960s. Summer Darlings is utterly atmospheric and compelling."

– Julia Kelly, international bestselling author of The Whispers of War and The Light Over London

"Rendered in evocative historical detail, Summer Darlings is a compelling debut, a taut portrait of money and social status, and of a young woman navigating her place in the world. Foster offers a glittering glimpse into the private lives of New England's elite families, while exposing the dark underbelly of privilege. I couldn't stop turning the pages until I had reached the breathless, satisfying conclusion." 

– Meredith Jaeger, author of Boardwalk Summer and The Dressmaker's Dowry

"Set in the summer of 1962, Brooke Lea Foster’s Summer Darlings has all the ingredients of a delightfully fizzy beach cocktail: A spunky, working-class Wellesley student determined to make her mark, the deceptively “perfect” wealthy couple that employs her as a nanny on Martha’s Vineyard, two alluring and very different suitors, and a bombshell movie star with a heart of gold. If you like your summer escapism with a nostalgic splash of Mad Men-era glamour, you'll love this surprisingly twisty debut."

– Karen Dukess, author of The Last Book Party

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Brooke Lea Foster