Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Meet Izzy Gizmo – a fabulously feisty new character from Pip Jones (Squishy McFluff; Daddy's Sandwich) brought brilliantly to life with exuberant and detailed illustrations from the best-selling illustrator of TheDetective Dog, Sara Ogilvie.

Izzy Gizmo, a girl who LOVED to invent,
carried her tool bag wherever she went
in case she discovered a thing to be mended,
or a gadget to tweak to make to make it more splendid.

Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again?

Shortlisted for the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Prize 2017, this empowering book is perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Join Izzy and Fixer for more machine mayhem in the brilliant follow-up story, Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention.

‘Jones’s loping, engaging rhymes and Ogilvie’s vivacious images evoke both inspiration and frustration’ The Guardian
‘If you’re looking for a new book with a determined, strong female role model then this is for you.’ Being a Mummy blog
‘A lovely story of ingenuity and determination.’ Parents in Touch
‘I doubt many will fail to fall for Izzy and her mechanical mind. Pip Jones’ rhyming narrative is a cracker to read aloud and Sara Ogilvie’s imagination must be almost as fertile as young Izzy’s… A real riot.’ Red Reading Hub blog

About The Author

Pip Jones is a children's author, feature writer, columnist and editor based in the south west, and is most often found writing or herding children. She is the author of the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Prize 2017 shortlisted Izzy Gizmo and its brilliant follow-up Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention. Her series Squishy McFluff won the Greenhouse Funny Prize in 2012. 
 

About The Illustrator

Sara Ogilvie is an illustrator and printmaker and was the 2011 BookTrust Best New Illustrators Award winner. Dogs Don’t Do Ballet, which she illustrated, was shortlisted for the 2010 Roald Dahl Funny Prize and the 2010 BookTrust Early Years Award. Sara lives in lives in Newcastle upon Tyne in the north of England.
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (January 1, 2017)
  • Length: 32 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780857075130
  • Ages: 3 - 99

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Pip Jones

More books from this illustrator: Sara Ogilvie