Skip to Main Content

Hotel Portofino

LIST PRICE: AU$ 11.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

A heady historical drama about a British family who open an upper-class hotel on the magical Italian Riviera during the ‘Roaring 20s’.
 
Hotel Portofino has been open for only a few weeks, but already the problems are mounting for its owner Bella Ainsworth. Her high-class guests are demanding and hard to please. And she’s being targeted by a scheming and corrupt local politician, who threatens to drag her into the red-hot cauldron of Mussolini’s Italy.
 
To make matters worse, her marriage is in trouble, and her children are still struggling to recover from the repercussions of the Great War. All eyes are on the arrival of a potential love match for her son Lucian, but events don’t go to plan, which will have far reaching consequences for the whole family.
 
Set in the breathtakingly beautiful Italian Riviera, Hotel Portofino is a story of personal awakening at a time of global upheaval and of the liberating influence of Italy’s enchanting culture, climate and cuisine on British ‘innocents abroad’, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.
 

.

JP O’Connell has worked as an editor and writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines including Time Out, the Guardian, The Times and the Daily Telegraph.  JP has also written several books including a novel, a celebration of letter-writing, a spice encyclopaedia, and most recently an analysis of David Bowie’s favourite books and the ways they influenced his music. JP lives in London.
 

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (December 23, 2021)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781398511767