Skip to Main Content

Being someone’s rock is a role Rio Gibson never saw herself playing. On most days, she’s not convinced she can even care for her adopted stray cat. But waiting for the safe return of the man she loves might be the most excruciating trial of her life, and she’s pulled herself together with strength she never knew existed.

Grant Twombley has reached his limit. Normally gregarious and good-natured, his spirit takes a leave of absence after he’s returned to Rio’s side. He’s unharmed—or so it appears. He never thought he’d revisit the dark side of his temperament, but it slides back into place like his favorite worn-in jeans. And what do you know? The damn things still fit.

Maybe a little too well.

If Rio can conquer her demons, she just might be the guiding light Grant needs. But will it be enough for them to finally have their shot at happiness?

USA Today bestselling romance author Angel Payne loves to focus on high-heat romance starring memorable alpha men and the women who love them. She has numerous book series to her credit, including the action-packed Bolt Saga and Honor Bound series, Secrets of Stone series (with Victoria Blue), the intertwined Cimarron and Temptation Court series, the Suited for Sin series, and the Lords of Sin historicals, as well as several standalone titles.


Angel is a native Southern Californian, leading to her love of being in the outdoors, where she often reads and writes. She still lives in Southern California with her soul-mate husband and beautiful daughter, to whom she is a proud cosplay/culture con mom. Her passions also include whisky tasting, shoe shopping, and travel

International bestselling author, Victoria Blue lives in her own portion of the galaxy known as Southern California. There, she finds the love and life sustaining power of one amazing sun, two unique and awe inspiring planets and four indifferent, yet comforting moons. Life is fantastic and challenging and everyday brings new adventures to be discovered. She looks forward to seeing what’s next!

  • Publisher: Waterhouse Press LLC (October 1, 2021)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781642632163

More books in this series: Shark's Edge