Skip to Main Content

A moving and heartbreaking debut from the bestselling author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo – for fans of PS, I Love You and Me Before You

Elsie Porter is an average twentysomething and yet what happens to her is anything but ordinary. On a rainy New Year’s Day, she heads out to pick up a pizza for one. She isn’t expecting to see anyone else in the shop, much less the adorable and charming Ben Ross. Their chemistry is instant and electric. Ben cannot even wait twenty-four hours before asking to see her again. Within weeks, the two are head over heels in love. By May, they’ve eloped.

Only nine days later, Ben is out riding his bike when he is hit by a truck and killed on impact. Elsie hears the sirens outside her apartment but by the time she gets downstairs, he has already been whisked off to the emergency room. At the hospital, she must face Susan, the mother-in-law she has never met – and who doesn’t even know Elsie exists.

Interweaving Elsie and Ben’s charmed romance with Elsie and Susan’s healing process, Forever, Interrupted shows us that there’s more than one way to find a happy ending.

‘Touching and powerful ... Reid masterfully grabs hold of the heartstrings and doesn't let go. A stunning first novel.’ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

Photograph by Scott Witter

Taylor Jenkins Reid lives in Los Angeles and is the acclaimed author of Malibu RisingDaisy Jones & the Six, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, One True Loves, Maybe in Another Life, After I Do, and Forever, Interrupted. To learn more, visit TaylorJenkinsReid.com.

'A moving novel about life and death.'

– Kirkus

'You'll laugh, weep and fly through each crazy-readable page.'

– Redbook

'Forever, Interrupted weaves a beautiful love story with a terrible tragedy. Told in alternating timelines, each chapter progresses sequentially from two different arcs: one of a blooming, forever love and another of overcoming a sudden, inexplicable loss. Each storyline moves effortlessly and seamlessly through the connected stages, while also emphasising the strengthening of old friendships and the forging of new ones. Whether told in past or present voice, Reid’s debut is a superb read from start to finish!'

– Romantic Times

'Moving, gorgeous and, at times, heart-wrenching. Taylor Jenkins Reid writes with wit and true emotion that you can feel. Read it, savor it, share it.'

– Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author of The Violets of March

'Taylor Jenkins Reid has written a poignant and heartfelt exploration of love and commitment in the absence of shared time that asks, what does it take to be the love of someone's life?'

– Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus, New York Times bestselling authors

'Sweet, heartfelt, and surprising, Forever Interrupted is a story about a young woman struggling to find her way after losing her husband. These characters made me laugh as well as cry, and I ended up falling in love with them, too.'

– Sarah Pekkanen, author of The Best of Us

'This beautifully rendered story explores the brilliance and rarity of finding true love, and how to find our way back through the painful aftermath of losing it. These characters will leap right off the page and into your heart.'

– Amy Hatvany, author of Heart Like Mine

More books from this author: Taylor Jenkins Reid