Skip to Main Content

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga from the acclaimed author of The Land Girls. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson

AS WAR RAGES, CAN LOVE SURVIVE?

August, 1918

As the First World War is entering its final, desperate stages, Sally Wilde discovers that her handsome sweetheart has been killed in action. With a generation of young men having given up their lives for their country, many of the young women left behind struggle to find a husband, and so Sally decides instead to dedicate her life to nursing.

Although it is not the life she'd imagined for herself, work at Newcastle City Hospital is fulfilling and rewarding, and soon Sally finds herself drawn to Lieutenant Kit Maxfield, an Australian officer on her ward. But fraternisation between nurses and their patients is strictly forbidden, and behind his facial injuries, Kit is hiding a shocking secret.

Will loving Kit lead Sally into great danger and change the course of her life forever . . .?

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (June 1, 2015)
  • Length: 496 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471115424

More books from this author: Annie Wilkinson