Skip to Main Content

TO SAVE HER OWN LIFE, WILL SHE SACRIFICE ANOTHER?

June 1940: the first summer of the war. Berlin is being bombed and nightly blackouts suffocate the city. Then France falls and a shadow descends.

A shadow has fallen over Clara Vine’s own life, too. She is an Anglo-German woman in a country that hates England. Then she is summoned to meet the Propaganda minister, Joseph Goebbels, who has decided that Clara should adopt a new role – as his spy.   

Much as she dislikes the idea, Clara realises this might be the chance to find an escape route to England. But Goebbels has other ideas and soon Clara is drawn into a web that threatens to destroy her. As everything she holds dear is taken as ransom, she must fight to protect her family – and to survive…

Solitaire delivers brilliantly engrossing wartime fiction for fans of  Sadie Jones, Rosie Thomas and Irene Nemirovsky.

 
Praise for Jane Thynne’s Clara Vine novels:
‘An absolute cracker of a read…fast-paced and gripping from the start’ Sunday Times
‘A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful’ Mail on Sunday
‘Terrific’ Elizabeth Buchan

Jane Thynne was born in Venezuela and educated in London. She graduated from Oxford University with a degree in English and joined the BBC as a journalist. She has also worked at The Sunday Times, The Daily Telegraph and The Independent, as well as for numerous British magazines. She appears as a broadcaster on Radio 4. Jane is married to the writer Philip Kerr. They have three children and live in London. Find out more at www.janethynne.com connect with her on Facebook or follow her on Twitter @janethynne

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (July 1, 2017)
  • Length: 464 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471155819

'The perfect fusion of history, suspense and high romance'

– The Times on Black Roses

'A thoughtful but fast-moving novel'

– Reader's Digest on Black Roses

'This well-researched story unfolds with utterly knuckle-whitening suspense, and it was my favourite escapist read of the year'

– Saga Magazine on Black Roses

'Terrific'

– Elizabeth Buchan, The Sunday Times on Black Roses

'Jane Thynne's smooth writing, sensitive understanding of the era and sharp observations combine into an excellent historical thriller'

– Jessica Mann, Literary Review on Black Roses

'Fast-paced and gripping'

– The Sunday Times on The Winter Garden

'A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful'

– Mail on Sunday on The Winter Garden

'Both historically fascinating and a proper thriller'

– Reader's Digest on The Winter Garden

'An absolute cracker of a read...Thynne expertly maintains the suspense, while evoking the tension of Berlin as the city gathers its strength for war'

– The Times on The Winter Garden

'A thumpingly good read with a strong denouement'

– Mail on Sunday on The Winter Garden

'So convincing one forgets that it is a piece of fiction'

– The Lady on The Winter Garden

'Pre-war Germany's atmosphere of reprehension, terror and Nazi hubris is vividly evoked in a gripping but sad tale'

– Jessica Mann, Literary Review on The Winter Garden

'A tale of suspense and intrigue...Thynne's grasp of the period is first-class, and she has woven in a tender wartime love story'

– Mail on Sunday on A War of Flowers

'Darkly brooding horror hangs over Germany; an irresistible page-turner packed with historical detail and told from a most unusual perspective'

– Kirkus Reviews on Faith and Beauty

‘This is the fourth of the addictive ‘Clara Vine’ novels, set in Berlin on the eve of war. Clara is a half-German British agent with access to the inner circle of Nazi wives. Portraits of women such as Magda Goebbels and Eva Braun are ruthlessly truthful, but drawn with compassion. It is early 1939, and Clara is drawn into investigating the murder of a girl at the League of Faith and Beauty finishing school. Brilliant’

– Saga magazine on Faith and Beauty

More books from this author: Jane Thynne