Skip to Main Content


The new must-read thriller from the bestselling author of Firewatching

A DCI Adam Tyler novel

Sheffield’s beautiful Botanical Gardens – an oasis of peace in a world filled with sorrow, confusion and pain. And then, one morning, a body is discovered in the Gardens. A girl, dead from a stab wound, buried in a quiet corner. And then… unburied. Who is she? Who killed her? Who dug her up? And who laid two ancient Roman coins over her eyes?

In his quest to find her murderer, DI Adam Tyler will uncover the secretive world of nighthawks: treasure-hunters who operate under cover of darkness, seeking the lost and valuable… and willing to kill to protect what they find.


Russ Thomas was born in Essex, raised in Berkshire and now lives in Sheffield. After a few 'proper' jobs (among them: pot-washer, optician's receptionist, supermarket warehouse operative, call-centre telephonist, and storage salesman) he discovered the joys of bookselling, where he could talk to people about books all day. His highly-acclaimed debut novel, Firewatching, is the first in the DS Adam Tyler series and published in February 2020. Nighthawking, the second book in the series, published in April 2021. 

To find out more, visit his website or follow him on Twitter.
T: / @thevoiceofruss

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (May 5, 2021)
  • Length: 448 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471181412

More books from this author: Russ Thomas