Skip to Main Content

My Life Beyond Leukemia

A Mayo Clinic patient story

Book #2 of My Life Beyond
As told by Rae Burremo / Edited by Mira Kohorst / Illustrated by Hey Gee
Published by Mayo Clinic Press
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

The “My Life Beyond” graphic book series tells the true stories of Mayo Clinic patients. Featuring 36 beautiful, fully illustrated pages, this graphic novel shares the inspiring story of Rae Burremo’s experience with leukemia.

After going through treatment for leukemia, Amy is used to visiting the hospital. As she falls asleep for another medical test, she suddenly finds herself on an adventure. With the help of a shrinking potion, other magic tools and some friends, she’s on a mission to help other kids face leukemia and its treatment. 

What is it really like to have this childhood cancer? Find out how Amy beats leukemia and discovers life beyond her illness.

Children’s voices are rarely heard amid the complexity of modern medicine. That's why every story in the My Life Beyond series stems from the imagination and experience of a Mayo Clinic patient. The books were developed through collaboration between these patients, Mayo Clinic physicians and author-illustrator Hey Gee. Through this unique lens of inspiring real-life experiences, the series explores how children view illness, challenges and recovery.

Leukemia is estimated to affect 1 in every 1000 children, but children’s voices and their experiences with this disease are rarely heard. Created through collaboration between pediatric patients, their doctors, and children’s author and illustrator Hey Gee, My Life Beyond Leukemia dives into the minds and imaginations of child patients at Mayo Clinic to explain how children experience illness, challenges, and recovery.

The “My Life Beyond” graphic novel book series is published in collaboration with Fondation Ipsen.

About The Author

About The Illustrator

Product Details

  • Publisher: Mayo Clinic Press (March 22, 2022)
  • Length: 36 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781945564406
  • Ages: 7 - 9

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Grades 3-6. The Mayo Clinic’s My Life Beyond series (3 titles) takes the experiences of real kids and turns them into graphic-novel stories that both educate readers and offer support to those in similar situations. A short foreword, not much over a paragraph, by the child who inspired the story offers some context for the story to come, and high-level back matter best suited to caregivers or educators provides definitions of key medical terms and a note about the featured topic from the book’s medical editor. Autism reads like straightforward nonfiction, though C. Ano’s experiences with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) are demonstrated through the fictional character of Tracy, who walks readers through some of the social, emotional, and sensory challenges she’s overcome, as well as her hobbies and interests. For all the titles, cartoon-style artwork relates the plot as well as the feelings and perceptions of the main characters. These stories will help readers understand others’ experiences and build empathy while learning basic facts about common diseases, disorders, and social struggles.

– Booklist (February 1, 2022 (Vol. 118, No. 11))

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Hey Gee

More books in this series: My Life Beyond