Skip to Main Content

Fans of Goosebumps and Bill Nye the Science Guy will fall head over heels for Franny K. Stein, who is back with another laugh-out-loud experimental adventure in the tenth book in the Mad Scientist series.

Franny K. Stein has had quite enough of her feelings getting in the way. So she physically removes them with the help of one of her machines.

But it turns out that not having feelings can make things even worse, especially when you’ve accidentally released a virus that’s turning everybody into toads.

Good thing she has the help of her grandma, Granny Fran, and her Sense of Duty to help her shake the apathy.

Chapter One: Franny’s House CHAPTER ONE FRANNY’S HOUSE
The Stein family lived in the pretty pink house with the lovely purple shutters down at the end of Daffodil Street. Everything about the house was bright and cheery.



And even though it was bright and cheery, Franny thought that if you just mixed the purple and pink paint together, you could paint the house much faster and then get on to more important things than the color of a house.



Many of Franny’s recent inventions were all about mixing things together.

She’d gotten the idea the last time she saw her grandma, Granny Franny.



“Each of the individual things I put in my soup are good,” she told Franny. “But when they’re all mixed together, they somehow make it better.”

“I wonder what kind of science is at work here,” Franny said, holding up her grandmother to stir the pot.



“I also wonder how you keep getting smaller every time I see you, Granny Fran. I bet that in a couple years you’ll be able to take a bath in a spoon,” Franny joked.



“You might be right, Franny,” Granny Franny said, chuckling. “But just because something is small, that doesn’t mean it can’t have a huge effect. Have you ever been bitten by a mosquito?”

Franny laughed.

“I get the point,” she said.



“And thanks for teaching me how to make soup! I can’t wait to get back to my lab and make my own version of soup.”

Of course, Franny’s Lab wasn’t a pure Lab. He was also part poodle, part Chihuahua, part beagle, part spaniel, part shepherd, and part some kind of weaselly thing that wasn’t even exactly a dog.



His name was Igor, and he was always ready to help Franny with her experiments.…

Except when he was busy with his own stuff.


Jim Benton is the New York Times bestselling writer of the Dear Dumb Diary series and a cartoonist whose unique brand of humor has been seen on toys, television, T-shirts, greeting cards, and even underwear. Franny K. Stein is the first character he’s created especially for young children. A husband and father of two, he lives in Michigan, where he works in a studio that really and truly does have creepy stuff in it.

Jim Benton is the New York Times bestselling writer of the Dear Dumb Diary series and a cartoonist whose unique brand of humor has been seen on toys, television, T-shirts, greeting cards, and even underwear. Franny K. Stein is the first character he’s created especially for young children. A husband and father of two, he lives in Michigan, where he works in a studio that really and truly does have creepy stuff in it.

“Franny K. Stein makes science cool! Everyone wants to be a mad scientist when you have Franny K. Stein as your partner. These creative and fun adventures deal with all the ups and downs of elementary school and experimental error.”

—Krista V., Senior Editor, on Mood Science

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (October 1, 2021)
  • Length: 160 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534413436
  • Ages: 6 - 10

Browse Related Books

More books from this author: Jim Benton

More books in this series: Franny K. Stein, Mad Scientist