Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Recently elected president Richard Monroe – populist, controversial and divisive – is at the centre of an increasingly polarised Washington, DC. Never has the partisan drama been so tense or the paranoia so rampant. In the midst of contentious political turf wars, the White House chief of staff is found dead in his house. A tenacious intern discovers a single clue that suggests he died from something other than natural causes, and it seems there may be a deep conspiracy running beneath the surface of everyday events: powerful government figures are scheming to undermine the rule of law – and democracy itself. Soon, allies are exposed as enemies, once-dependable authorities fall under suspicion, and it seems no one is who they say they are.

The unthinkable is happening. The Deep State is real. 

Who will die to keep its secrets? Who will kill to uncover the truth?

‘A propulsive, page-turning, compelling, fragmentation grenade of a debut thriller’ C.J. Box, author of Wolf Pack

‘A modern-day whodunnit set in the political morass that is current Washington, DC. Riveting and engrossing with an atypical protagonist, it keeps you guessing until the final pages are turned. Chris Hauty has just placed a marker in the world of political thrillers’ Matthew Betley, author of Overwatch

About The Author

Photograph by Lauren Ehrenfeld

Chris Hauty is a screenwriter based in Los Angeles and the author of Deep State and Savage Road. He has worked at all the major movie studios, in nearly every genre of film, with credits including Never Back Down and Sniper: Homeland Security. He currently lives in Glendale, California.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (January 14, 2020)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471191992

Raves and Reviews

‘A timely political thriller … one of the more surprising double-reverse plot twists I have seen in some time.’

– New York Times Book Review

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Chris Hauty

More books in this series: A Hayley Chill Thriller